Skip to toolbar

What is EVS


Do you want to:

Work abroad, improve your creativity, communications skills, leadership and management skills, team and individual work, digital competencies, interpersonal and social competencies, entrepreneurship, communication in foreign languages, active citizenship?

European Voluntary Service is a Once in a lifetime experience to gain self-confidence and Learn in non-formal way, to Support youth, to Exchange, Experience, and gain knowledge about cultures and customs.

BE AN EVS Volunteer


Volunteers can engage in programs dealing with youth information and policies, civic engagement, social care, inclusion of the disadvantaged, non-formal education, ITCs and Media literacy, culture and creativity, development cooperation.



EVS is for everyone who wants to volunteer but also for all organizations who want to work with volunteers. The volunteers don’t have to have any specified knowledge or skills neither know the language of the countries. It involves also people with fewer opportunities.


EVS is for any youth organization who wishes to contribute to the development of youth and their communities. There are three roles that these organizations can take: Coordination organization, sending organization and hosting organization.  All of these need to apply and receive an accreditation which certifies that they have the necessary knowledge, ability and willingness to carry out EVS projects.


The age? From 17 – 30

How long can you stay? From 2 weeks till 12 months.

Where can you go?


The following countries can fully take part in all the Actions of the Erasmus+ Program:

Member States of the European Union: Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Croatia, Italy, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland, Sweden, United Kingdom

Non EU Program Countries: former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Turkey


The following countries can take part in EVS:


Region 1, Western Balkans: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, Serbia.

Region 2, Eastern Partnership countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine.

Region 3, South-Mediterranean countries: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia

Region 4, Russian Federation: Territory of Russia as recognised by international law


Region 5: Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City State, Switzerland

Region 6, Asia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, DPR Korea, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam

Region 7, Central Asia: Kazakstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

Region 8, Latin America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela

Region 9: Iran, Iraq, Yemen

Region 10: South Africa

Region 11, ACP: Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Cape Verde, Comoros, Bahamas, Barbados, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, (Brazzaville), Congo (Kinshasa), Cook Islands, Côte d’Ivoire,Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican, Republic, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Republic of Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Solomon Islands, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Tanzania, East Timor, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia,


Region 12, Industrialised Gulf Cooperation countries: Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates.

Region 13, Other Industrialised countries: Australia, Brunei, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, (Republic of) Korea, Macao, New Zealand, Singapore, Taiwan, United States of America.

Do you have insurance? After being selected, all volunteers are enrolled for insurance through the MSH INTERNATIONAL, also known as AXA insurance which can cover the whole period of the volunteering activity and optionally, two additional months after the activity.

How does it looks like? Volunteers work in the organization and country and in the field of work of their own choosing for up to 7 hours per day on the project they applied for.  The participation in EVS activity is free of charge for volunteers – volunteers have paid travel costs, accommodation and food and get a monthly pocket money.

Support for volunteer?

Before coming the support is given to the volunteer by sending organization who can explain to him more about EVS, applying process and tell them more about youth pass. When the volunteer chooses the project on which he wants to work, and after coming to the host country volunteer works in organization with his project leader, supervisor, mentor in his hosting organization. Besides them, the volunteer gets support from National agency or regional SALTOs on an on-arrival and mid-term training.

Online diary for European volunteers